07/01/2017, 12:07

Aussie international Sam Masters closed on the Australian Championship lead with victory in round two at Mildura on Saturday.

The Newcastle-born racer reached the A Final on countback with 12 points, before seeing off Max Fricke, Dave Watt and excluded B Final winner Justin Sedgmen to climb up to third place overall with 26 points.

But Gillman victor Watt leads the way after tallying 13 in the heats to storm straight into the last four, before adding a further two points with third place in the A Final to move on 32.

Hometown star Sedgmen is second in the standings on 29. Despite scoring 12 in the qualifiers, his opening-ride exclusion meant he had to contest the B Final, in which he beat Brady Kurtz, Nick Morris and Troy Batchelor.

Sedgmen was then disqualified after slipping off on turn one in the A Final, meaning he didn’t pick up a consolation point for fourth place following a change to the rules for 2017.

Fricke finished second on the night after topping the heat scorechart on 13 at his local track. He surged up to fourth spot in the championship ahead of round three at Undera on Wednesday.

AUSTRALIAN CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Dave Watt 32, 2 Justin Sedgmen 29, 3 Sam Masters 26, 4 Max Fricke 25, 5 Nick Morris 22, 6 Troy Batchelor 20, 7 Brady Kurtz 15, 8= Jack Holder 13, Josh Pickering 13, Rohan Tungate 13, 11 Ty Proctor 12, 12 Jaimon Lidsey 11, 13 Todd Kurtz 9, 14 Mason Campton 7, 15= Cooper Riordan 6, Jordan Stewart 6.

MILDURA HEAT SCORES: 1 Max Fricke 13, 2 Dave Watt 13, 3 Sam Masters 12, 4 Justin Sedgmen 12, 5 Brady Kurtz 10, 6 Troy Batchelor 8, 7 Nick Morris 8, 8 Josh Pickering 8, 9 Jack Holder 7, 10 Ty Proctor 6, 11 Jaimon Lidsey 6, 12 Jordan Stewart 4, 13 Todd Kurtz 4, 14 Mason Campton 4, 15 Rohan Tungate 3, 16 Cooper Riordan 2.

B Final: Sedgmen, Kurtz, Morris, Batchelor.

A Final: Masters, Fricke, Watt, Sedgmen (f.exc).



Speedway Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix