World Championship winners of the past

Roll of honour
Year Winner Second Third
2017 Jason Doyle (Aus) Patryk Dudek (Pol) Tai Woffinden (GBR)
2016 Greg Hancock (USA) Tai Woffinden (GBR) Bartosz Zmarzlik (POL)
2015 Tai Woffinden (GBR) Greg Hancock (USA) Nicki Pedersen (DEN)
2014 Greg Hancock (USA) Krzysztof Kasprzak (POL) Nicki Pedersen (DEN)
2013 Tai Woffinden (GBR) Jaroslaw Hampel (POL) Niels-Kristian Iversen (DEN)
2012 Chris Holder (AUS) Nicki Pedersen (DEN) Greg Hancock (USA)
2011 Greg Hancock (USA) Andreas Jonsson (SWE) Jaroslaw Hampel (POL)
2010 Tomasz Gollob (POL) Jaroslaw Hampel (POL) Jason Crump (AUS)
2009 Jason Crump (AUS) Tomasz Gollob (POL) Emil Sayfutdinov (RUS)
2008 Nicki Pedersen (DEN) Jason Crump (AUS) Tomasz Gollob (POL)
2007 Nicki Pedersen (DEN) Leigh Adams (AUS) Jason Crump (AUS)
2006 Jason Crump (AUS) Greg Hancock (USA) Nicki Pedersen (DEN)
2005 Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Jason Crump (AUS) Leigh Adams (AUS)
2004 Jason Crump (AUS) Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Greg Hancock (USA)
2003 Nicki Pedersen (DEN) Jason Crump (AUS) Tony Rickardsson (SWE)
2002 Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Jason Crump (AUS) Ryan Sullivan (AUS)
2001 Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Jason Crump (AUS) Tomasz Gollob (POL)
2000 Mark Loram (GBR) Billy Hamill (USA) Tony Rickardsson (SWE)
1999 Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Tomasz Gollob (POL) Hans Nielsen (DEN)
1998 Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Jimmy Nilsen (SWE) Tomasz Gollob (POL)
1997 Greg Hancock (USA) Billy Hamill (USA) Tomasz Gollob (POL)
1996 Billy Hamill (USA) Hans Nielsen (DEN) Greg Hancock (USA)
1995 Hans Nielsen (DEN) Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Sam Ermolenko (USA)
1994 Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Hans Nielsen (DEN) Craig Boyce (AUS)
1993 Sam Ermolenko (USA) Hans Nielsen (DEN) Chris Louis (GBR)
1992 Gary Havelock (GBR) Per Jonsson (SWE) Gert Handberg (DEN)
1991 Jan O. Pedersen (DEN) Tony Rickardsson (SWE) Hans Nielsen (DEN)
1990 Per Jonsson (SWE) Shawn Moran (USA) Todd Wiltshire (AUS)
1989 Hans Nielsen (DEN) Simon Wigg (GBR) Jeremy Doncaster (GBR)
1988 Erik Gundersen (DEN) Hans Nielsen (DEN) Jan O. Pedersen (DEN)
1987 Hans Nielsen (DEN) Erik Gundersen (DEN) Sam Ermolenko (USA)
1986 Hans Nielsen (DEN) Jan O. Pedersen (DEN) Kelvin Tatum (GBR)
1985 Erik Gundersen (DEN) Hans Nielsen (DEN) Sam Ermolenko (USA)
1984 Erik Gundersen (DEN) Hans Nielsen (DEN) Lance King (USA)
1983 Egon Muller (GER) Billy Sanders (AUS) Michael Lee (GBR)
1982 Bruce Penhall (USA) Les Collins (GBR) Dennis Sigalos (USA)
1981 Bruce Penhall (USA) Ole Olsen (DEN) Tommy Knudsen (DEN)
1980 Michael Lee (GBR) Dave Jessup (GBR) Billy Sanders (AUS)
1979 Ivan Mauger (NZL) Zenon Plech (POL) Michael Lee (GBR)
1978 Ole Olsen (DEN) Gordon Kennett (GBR) Scott Autrey (USA)
1977 Ivan Mauger (NZL) Peter Collins (GBR) Ole Olsen (DEN)
1976 Peter Collins (GBR) Malcolm Simmons (GBR) Phil Crump (AUS)
1975 Ole Olsen (DEN) Anders Michanek (SWE) John Louis (GBR)
1974 Anders Michanek (SWE) Ivan Mauger (NZL) Soren Sjosten (SWE)
1973 Jerzy Szczakiel (POL) Ivan Mauger (NZL) Zenon Plech (POL)
1972 Ivan Mauger (NZL) Bernt Persson (SWE) Ole Olsen (DEN)
1971 Ole Olsen (DEN) Ivan Mauger (NZL) Bengt Jansson (SWE)
1970 Ivan Mauger (NZL) Pawel Waloszek (POL) Antoni Woryna (POL)
1969 Ivan Mauger (NZL) Barry Briggs (NZL) Soren Sjosten (SWE)
1968 Ivan Mauger (NZL) Barry Briggs (NZL) Edward Jancarz (POL)
1967 Ove Fundin (SWE) Bengt Jansson (SWE) Ivan Mauger (NZL)
1966 Barry Briggs (NZL) Sverre Harrfeldt (NOR) Antoni Woryna (POL)
1965 Bjorn Knutsson (SWE) Igor Plechanov (USSR) Ove Fundin (SWE)
1964 Barry Briggs (NZL) Igor Plechanov (USSR) Ove Fundin (SWE)
1963 Ove Fundin (SWE) Bjorn Knutsson (SWE) Barry Briggs (NZL)
1962 Peter Craven (GBR) Barry Briggs (NZL) Ove Fundin (SWE)
1961 Ove Fundin (SWE) Bjorn Knutsson (SWE) Gote Nordin (SWE)
1960 Ove Fundin (SWE) Ronnie Moore (NZL) Peter Craven (GBR)
1959 Ronnie Moore (NZL) Ove Fundin (SWE) Barry Briggs (NZL)
1958 Barry Briggs (NZL) Ove Fundin (SWE) Aub Lawson (AUS)
1957 Barry Briggs (NZL) Ove Fundin (SWE) Peter Craven (GBR)
1956 Ove Fundin (SWE) Ronnie Moore (NZL) Arthur Forrest (GBR)
1955 Peter Craven (GBR) Ronnie Moore (NZL) Barry Briggs (NZL)
1954 Ronnie Moore (NZL) Brian Crutcher (GBR) Olle Nygren (SWE)
1953 Freddie Williams (WAL) Split Waterman (GBR) Geoff Mardon (NZL)
1952 Jack Young (AUS) Freddie Williams (WAL) Bob Oakley (GBR)
1951 Jack Young (AUS) Split Waterman (GBR) Jack Biggs (AUS)
1950 Freddie Williams (WAL) Wally Green (GBR) GrahamWarren (AUS)
1949 Tommy Price (GBR) Jack Parker (GBR) Louis Lawson (GBR)
1938 Bluey Wilkinson (AUS) Jack Milne (USA) Wilbur Lamoreaux (USA)
1937 Jack Milne (USA) Wilbur Lamoreaux (USA) Cordy Milne (USA)
1936 Lionel Van Praag (AUS) Eric Langton (GBR) Bluey Wilkinson (AUS)

From 1939 to 1948 the competition was suspended due to World War II.

Prior to 1995 the Championship was decided at a one day World Final (two days in 1987).

Shawn Moran (USA) 1990 - Was disqualified after testing positive for a banned substance during a random drugs test and was stripped of his silver medal.